top of page

Week 4 -- Discovering Writing Through a Magnifying Lens

Updated: Apr 1, 2020



For students, it can be hard to have their writing under a magnifying lens. However to be a good writer, it requires an individual to have opportunities where they can read their work and develop their writer's ear (Dorfman & Cappelli 2017). By giving students these opportunities, they are able to build confidence in their abilities as writers and critical thinkers. One of the skills need for students to be successful writers is to be able to put their writing under a magnifying lens and look for those small moments that can be enlarged to take their readers there (p.78). In other words, it's all about the DETAILS and understanding the PURPOSE behind those details.

"When we write, it can sometimes be like putting something under a magnifying lens: we focus in on something small to make it big and bring out the details" -- Dorfman & Cappelli (2017). (p.78)

When considering what details are important to look for and to have in a piece of writing, it becomes essential to model how these details work in writing, in regards to 'enlarging' those 'smaller moments' in the writing process. According to Dorfman & Cappelli's (2017) Mentor Text: Teaching, Writing Through Children's Literature, K-6, they note some key literary techniques that writers use to capture the readers' attention and to help them dive deeper into text that they are reading. Some of the literary techniques they emphasized were:

  • Thoughtshot - when the author adds in the thoughts of a character (pg.79).

  • Dialogue - Author often use this strategy to open up a scene, to add interest, and details to their story. Sometimes dialogue in a story can be strategically placed to highlight an important part of the story. Dialogue also may be used by the author to explain or add information to the story (p.81)

  • Sensory details - These are the details (see, taste, hear, smell, & feel) that bring the readers closer and make [them] feel as if [they] are there (p.84). To help students sort through all of the visual 'sensory' input within a story, the teacher may use a graphic organizer, or a 'visualization chart' (p.85)

  • Anecdotes - In most cases, the author uses this literary technique to 'reveal' something about a character or an event, or to add an interesting information to a piece of writing (p.86).

 


Your Turn Lesson:Creating a Hand Map


Adapted from “Your Turn Lesson 3” on page 70 of Dorfman, L. R., Cappelli, R., & Hoyt, L. (2017). Mentor texts: teaching writing through children’s literature, k-6 (2nd edition). Portland, ME: Stenhouse Publishers.


Hook:

Find a narrative that explores a character’s multiple emotions throughout the story. It is important that students can relate to the emotions and experiences that the character faces throughout the story. The book Jabari Jumps by Gaia Cornwall would work well with students because it models how emotions can sometimes be the inspiration behind what we choose to write. Within this narrative, students can use both the illustrations and the text to tell how Jabari is feeling and why he is feeling this way. Students may be able to relate to Jabari through an identical situation, but it would be best to introduce in a broader sense. For example, “As I read this story, reflect on a time that you overcame a fear” or “As I read this story, reflect on a time that you were nervous”. Students may also be able to pick on the character traits of Jabari throughout the story through his dialogue and his actions. Other mentor text options: The Wild Robot by Peter Brown; Shortcut by Donald Crews; Happy Like Soccer by Maribeth Boelts; Happy Pig Day! by Mo Willems; and A Crack in the Sea by H.M Bouwman.


Purpose:

What is the character feeling at the beginning of the story? How does Jabari feel once he gets to the top of the diving board? Has there ever been a time where you felt like Jambari in this scene? How does he feel once he jumps off of the diving board? What is the character’s feelings at the end of the story?

[LIST THE EMOTIONS ON THE BOARD AS THE STUDENTS NAME THEM.]

Can you see how much the story depends on the emotions of the main character and how they change during the telling of it?

When we are trying to write about specific topics, sometimes it is easier to pick a topic that we can really dive into. Times in which we have felt strong emotions may be more interesting for us to write about since this allows us to write about our own personal experiences. Today I am going to model how to use a hand map in order to find a specific topic to write about that has to do with your personal experiences.


Brainstorm:

Talk as a whole class about the different emotions that The main character faces. Following the discussion, students “turn and talk” to one another about their experiences with similar emotions. Students will then write lists of emotions they have felt before. This list can be in their writer’s notebook. A hand map can include both emotions and character traits. It may be easiest to start with the listing of emotions, but eventually students can have the chance to “turn and talk” with a partner in order to discuss what their emotions may say about their own traits. Students can also make a list of character traits next to the list of emotions in their writer’s notebook.


Model:

Create your own hand map to share with students. Trace your hand on a sheet of paper. Label each finger with an emotion (i.e. sadness, embarrassment, fear, anger, happiness, etc.). From each finger, draw lines that connect the emotions to complete thoughts about times in which you felt those emotions. (Have more than one example for each emotion). Try and think of examples for each emotion. Think aloud to your students and model your thought process in doing so. However, you can tell students that they may want to focus on one emotion at a time if they feel they have a lot of examples for a particular one, or they can move around. Hand maps are something that students can return to frequently in order to add ideas they think of later, or use an idea from their map to inspire other writing. Once you are done with your hand map, choose one example from your hand map to create an entry in your writer’s notebook.

This notebook entry came from [insert name] hand map where the emotion [insert emotion] led her to think about…..


Shared/guided writing:

For this particular lesson, students work collectively on a hand map, based off of their lists from the ‘brainstorm’ portion. Students alternate volunteering ideas from their lists as you write them on the group hand map in front of the students. While students are creating the group hand map, they will have their own hand maps in front of them. If they hear a good example that applies to them, they may write it on their own personal hand map. It is important that students are listing complete phrases or sentences as they create their own maps.

Examples:

  • Sad -- I woke up ready to go to the pool with my friends only to find out it was going to storm all day.

  • Happy: My friends threw me a fun birthday party!

  • Embarrassed: I tripped in the lunchroom and spilt my lunch all over me

Students will continue to work on their personal hand maps and share them in their small groups as the teacher circulates and offers support if needed.


Independent writing:

Students will pick one example (emotion) from their personal hand maps and write a short story in their writer’s notebooks. If the first example doesn’t naturally move them into writing, they are more than welcome to change their choice. These short stories will be drafts that may eventually turn into personal narratives. The teacher will work on his/her own hand map while the students write, modeling the fact that handmaps are ever evolving pieces that take time to do. This should reinforce that the students can come back to their hand maps to review them or add to them.


Reflection:

Students examine their writer’s notebook entries, folders, and portfolio pieces to find examples that started with the ideas from their individual hand maps. You may pose these questions to your students.

“What kinds of writing forms from the ideas in your hand map?”

“How effective was the hand map at sparking ideas for you to write about?”

“Did you find you could elaborate on the events from your hand map?”

“What memories did your hand map bring back?”


Hand-Map (Teacher Example)




Modeled Teacher Writing with Hand-Map

I remember the warm summer breeze and the sunshine kissing the tops of our heads as my friends and I waited in line to ride the rollercoaster. I felt so excited for this ride that I could't wipe the grin off of my face. My friends and I giggled and talked about how waiting in line for this rollercoaster was going to be worth it. From where we were standing, the line seemed to snake around and around the path to get on the rollercoaster. It was going to be awhile before we get to ride the rollercoaster. As we waited, the sun seemed like it was the only thing that was moving.

 

Small Moment Narrative Story


I remember feeling my heart drop to my stomach as I watched the world below me get SMALLER and smaller and smaller...

My whole body shook as the plane climbed higher and higher into the atmosphere. The plane's engine roared over the sound of the people chattering to each other.

They all seemed to be calm and collected like what they were about to do was just another normal day for them. I, on the other hand, was nervous as a turkey on thanksgiving. I turned to look outside of the cockpit and tried to distract myself by looking for shapes in the clouds. We pierced through the clouds in the sky like a needle going through fabric. As we continued to climb higher, I thought to myself, why am I jumping out a perfectly good airplane? I turned to my uncle who was sitting with a group of people. He looked at me as I searched his eyes for reassurance, he smiled and nodded his head as if to tell me that everything is going to be okay. I instantly felt better knowing this; however, this calmness feeling quickly faded when I felt my instructor tap my shoulder and telling me that it was time for us to get in line to jump.

I could feel my palms start to sweat and my heart pounding in my ears. I looked around the plane and noticed everyone starting to line up to jump. One by one, they slowly made their way to the end of the plane. I quickly realized though that everyone was wearing a helmet EXCEPT ME!? I thought, CRAP! This is not good. I quickly turned to my instructor and pleaded for answers as to why I was not wearing a helmet. I MEAN, HELLO!? He just nudged me forward as we continued to walk towards what seemed like the end of the Earth. My uncle was in front of me, and when it came time for him to jump he turned to look at me one last time before taking a running leap out of the plane. My instructor then hooked us up together, and then told me that it was our turn to jump and that when we step off the plan that I would need to lean back against him for us to flip over in the air. I could suddenly feel my stomach start to turn, regretting the burger I ate before this. I thought to myself, I hope I don't throw-up on my instructor. I closed my eyes, and tried to breathe. And everything after that moment, happened in slow motion, as I felt my feet leave the safety of the plane and when I opened my eyes and I saw... the Earth staring right back at me.


 

References


Dorfman, L. R., Cappelli, R., & Hoyt, L. (2017). Mentor texts: teaching writing through children’s literature, k-6 (2nd edition). Portland, ME: Stenhouse Publishers.


Cornwall, G. (2017). Jabari Jumps. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Publishers.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page